Resolving Timeline Issues

Return to the Gym

Posted on: April 8, 2008

I returned to the gym today at lunch after a long time of not going. I was doing the Tales from the Scales challenge last year, but between the work, the school, the contract work, the maintaining the house, yadda, yadda, yadda, I was just too exhausted all the time to do anything else.

Yesterday I got poked and prodded seven ways from Sunday. Well, not seven. But three, at least. The annual poke ‘n prod, the blood draw at the lab for a rubella-immunity test (which I don’t think I’ve been immunized against since I was a tot) and the dentist for a tooth-scraping.

And I had my blood pressure taken; it was a bit of an unhappy 134/88 (last year, I was told I had the blood pressure of a teenager). “More exercise, less salt?” I say to my Doctor. “Yes,” she says. “Aim for 40-45 minutes 4 or 5 times a week.” I was a bit surprised at that – but hey, I have 6.66 hours free every week at work, am allowed to combine all my breaks, and the gym is across the road from work.

So no time like the present. I combined my lunch breaks and did 40 minutes on the elliptical today. I am such an all-or-nothing kind of person.

I am a wee bit tired. My arms and upper back ache from being on the elliptical. But its a good sort of ache. I am looking forward to my jacuzzi tub tonight.

I just went over to Tales from the Scales and found out that it will be closing doors on April 17. Its sad, but even sadder is Beth’s story of late. She needs some time. And while the loss of Tales will be huge to those who depended on it, I would say to them that the community still exists. Help each other.

And remember that Beth is still out there.

1 Response to "Return to the Gym"

[…] My blood pressure was 112/70. WTF? Back here it was 134/88  and now I have MORE blood circulating and its the blood pressure of a […]

Comments are closed.

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

Places you should visit and things to click on

Tweet, Tweet:

