Resolving Timeline Issues

Well, would you look at that?

Posted on: April 9, 2008

 

 

I’m accidentally greener as of today. My bank is carbon-neutral.

At at this point I’m going to risk incurring the wrath of the internets with what I’ll say next: I am unconvinced about global warming.

*crickets*

That’s not to say I don’t believe it can happen or does happen. I sit in that group of people who question everything, and I think its really dangerous for people to believe something without questioning it – its the job of science and philosophy to continually question our beliefs.

Global warming is a possibility. We know we have an impact on the environment and we also know that the earth goes through warming and cooling trends, and it has since way before the human race came around.

Which brings me to my next point: what do we know? Well, I can tell you that in my childhood, I remember deep blue skies. Now the skies are lighter blue. I don’t know if that’s just memory, or if its actually happened and what caused it.

I remember hummingbirds – and I see very few now.

I remember seeing the geese flying south in the winter – and now they stick around for most of the winter.

I remember swimming in the ocean – and now I don’t because I don’t want to come out glowing.

I’m not saying we don’t have an impact on our environment. I believe that we should do what we can to minimize that impact. Whether that’s switching from plastic or paper bags to reusable bags, taking transit, or simply getting a more fuel-efficient car – whatever you can do, do it.

And remember to question what we know.

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

Places you should visit and things to click on

Tweet, Tweet:

