Resolving Timeline Issues

Come together, right now

Posted on: August 27, 2008

  • In: Political
  • Comments Off on Come together, right now

over him.

I took a break from cutting down a rather large box, to watch part of the Democratic Nomination process. I knew what was going to happen: at some point, someone would move to suspend the rules of the convention and nominate Barack Obama by acclamation.

Then California passed. I was madly twittering about this, trying to figure it out when Julie over at the MOMocrats posted the reason: because they didn’t want to skew the votes so that everyone would have the opportunity to have their votes count – a largely symbolic thing, but symbols matter. They often matter more than people realize. But that’s a subject for another post.

I went back to my box cutting. And Illinois passed. I madly twittered about this to no response.

And then a funny thing happened. When they got to New Mexico, Obama had just over 1500 votes. And New Mexico yielded the floor to Illinois. And the cameras panned to Hillary Clinton coming in. I dropped the knife I was using and came over to the TV. And I started welling up.

Illinois yielded to New York. And when New York had its moment, Senator Clinton made the motion of her life:

“With eyes firmly fixed on the future in the spirit of unity, with the goal of victory, with faith in our party and country, let’s declare together in one voice, right here and right now, that Barack Obama is our candidate and he will be our president,” Mrs. Clinton said.

“I move that Senator Barack Obama of Illinois be selected by this convention by acclamation as the Democratic nominee for president of the United States.”

(Quote published in The New York Times)

And then my tears really started streaming. Hope and joy…and a bit of disappointment. And I finally understood Joanne over at PunditMom, who’s been having a hard time with Senator Clinton not winning. To be blunt, I finally get that for a lot of people, the choice between two men is often the choice of the lesser of two evils.

I think it was sometime around the age of 8 or 9, I asked my Mom, “Why are all the Presidents men?” I don’t remember what she said, but I remember not being satisfied – thinking there was something fundamentally WRONG with the fact that no woman had ever been leader of the United States (or Canada) for that matter. That formed some sort of basis in me: that women have good ideas, are equal, and deserve political, economic and social equality and equity.

And although I like Senator Obama – I like him a lot – on some fundamental level, I was really looking forward to having a woman in the most powerful post in the world.

Not. This. Time. And Senator Clinton’s motion for acclamation made it real. It was the best thing she could do for the sake of the party: a call for all Democrats to come together, right now, over Barack Obama.

Then the “ayes” came – one unified voice behind the Democratic Candidate for President. And the power of that

Democracy, at its base, is the will of the many. Although I cannot vote in the US elections, I would encourage my neighbours to the south to think about the good of the many before they vote – whatever your personal status, look at your neighbours, your towns. Then think about it.

Then vote. And even if voting for the good of the many means for voting for the lesser of the two evils for you personally, consider it. Come together.

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Places you should visit and things to click on

Tweet, Tweet:

