Resolving Timeline Issues

In which I not only GIVE advice, but ASK for advice as well

Posted on: April 30, 2009

Can we talk? Seriously. This will be kind of random, but I have some categories.

1. Swine Flu

So swine flu, which apparently has nothing to do with flying pigs (oh come on, laugh a little).

My parents winter in Mexico. Every year on December 31 they pack up their minivan and go to bed early. Bright and early on January 1, they start driving. And they drive for awhile through the continental United States and about a week later they arrive in Mexico. A couple of days after that they arrive in the Manzanillo/Melaque area (Puerto Vallarta is the nearest major city there and is still a ways away). And then my mom bakes in the Mexican sun for a couple of months.

This year, there was an absolutely horrible virus going around and all the gringos tourists caught it. The doctors didn’t know what to do and even the doctors were getting sick. Both of my parents got it – it took my mom 2 weeks to fully recover and dad 10 days or so. Mom said it took a week for the fever to go away. A couple of people were hospitalized for a few days. And who knows where it came from. Signs and symptoms are the same as for what is being reported for swine flu.

Easter is the first major-ish sort of holiday in Mexico. And about that time, all the people from the major inland cities go on vacation. Much like people in Vancouver go to the Okanagan or Whistler or Vancouver Island for a long weekend, people from, oh say Mexico City, go to the coastal areas. Like Manzanillo. And then they go home.

In other words, this virus has been around since at least February. It only started getting press when it got transported to a city of 20 million people (more than half the population of Canada – think about the population density) and started moving from person to person.

The rules are the same: wash your hands often with hot water and soap, don’t touch your face, stay home if you don’t feel good.

2. The Barbeque (here’s where you get to give advice!)

I went out on the patio today to clean the barbeque so we can, oh I don’t know, GRILL THIS YEAR so I don’t have to heat up the house when I make dinner, and learned a very important lesson: every fall when you shut down your bbq, make sure you clean it properly or it will attract wasps the next year when you want to use it again.

Just sayin’. There were  a couple of wasps having lunch in there. I slammed the lid shut again, and went and got a can of wasp and hornet killer (because really, I hate wasps with the fire of 10 000 suns). And then I thought: I am 37 and a half weeks pregnant. I shouldn’t be using this stuff.

So I left the bbq and am now at a bit of a loss of what to do with it. Its a good grill and we like it and its only about a year old (natural gas). So far my plan of attack is:

  • Convince Darren to do it. Use sexual favours if necessary (because really, an 8.5 month pregnant woman is the height of sexy)

If anyone else has a better idea, please leave a comment.

3. Baby

The Poptart now has a gestational age of 8.5 months. And I am so ready to be done with this.

I had an appointment yesterday:

Blood Pressure: 116/60 (or something, I was tired and not really listening)
Baby heart rate: 154
Fundal height: 39 (or about a half a week ahead)
Strep B (and you do not want to know how they test for this!): negative
Hemoglobin: 119 (apparently this is good and I am not anemic)

Generally, I am healthy as a horse. Or a pig without swine flu, presumably.

Update: I was trying to explain how likely you are to get swine flu, but Mrs. Flinger does a much better job of it – and explains why you’re more likely to find a snake in your toilet than get swine flu. Snakes in a toilet? Freaky. I would run far and fast because I hate snakes more than I hate wasps.

3 Responses to "In which I not only GIVE advice, but ASK for advice as well"

My husband does this. I have been pregnant and/or nursing for the past 4 1/2 years, I’m not spraying the bugs.

And we had that problem ourselves, more than once. 😦

Our BBQ gets used at least once a week all year round, so we don’t have that problem. Future solution – bbq more regularly.

Ugh, I’m so sick of hearing about swine flu. People are forgetting how many thousands of people die from the regular flu every year. Yes, wash your hands. Duh.

I fire up the bbq without even looking inside..burn the shit out of and then clean after.

cept I think we are out of propane. Crap.

I have 10 weeks to go..so farking done.

Comments are closed.

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Places you should visit and things to click on

Tweet, Tweet:

