Resolving Timeline Issues

In which I give you even more reasons to hate me

Posted on: June 29, 2009

So I’m hoping that we’ve passed a hurdle here. And I’m really hoping that by posting this I’m not totally jinxing this.

Back when she was about 3 weeks old, the Poptart started sleeping in 4 hour stretches. Which was great, especially when she slept through the period from 12am to 4am. If she could do that, I could do the rest because really, I just don’t do 3am well.

There was one weekend where on Friday night, she slept from from 12:30 to 7:30, Saturday night from 1-8 and Sunday night from 9:30 to 4:30. That Was Fantastic.

(Then the next night she stayed up til 3am, but oh well)

Then there was one night where I totally earned my Mother of the Year award because I was sleeping with her in the extra bedroom and had put the bassinet in the bed with me, right next to my head, and promptly passed out. I woke up about an hour later to Darren standing over me and picking her up because she was screaming. And had been for half an hour. That I’d slept through even though she was right next to me. And Darren had heard her. From 2 floors away. So there was two of the three of us sobbing. That was a Not Good Moment.

She was in no danger – she just had bad gas and belched about 8 times and farted twice when Darren picked her up. And as a rather wise mother of three told me the next week, “Its okay. Your body was doing what it needed to do that was the best for both of you. That’s why there are generally two people involved when it comes to making a baby.”

Yesterday, she turned 6 weeks old. For the last week or so she’s been sleeping from about 10pm to 5am or 11pm to 6am.

And now you can hate me.

Our biggest issue right now is transitioning her to the crib. She’s about 12 lbs now and the bassinet only goes up to 17lbs. And she’s almost too long for the bassinet.

Oh and that she doesn’t really nap in the afternoon.

4 Responses to "In which I give you even more reasons to hate me"

I don’t hate you. In fact I am über jealous of you and your babies ability to sleep. I’ve been wanting to do 11pm to 6am for my entire life. Maybe it’s my diet. What are you feeding your child?

Breastmilk.

And no, you can’t have any.

I hope that keeps up for you! My youngest started out a good sleeper (which was great because my oldest from birth was NOT a good sleeper until at least 12 months) and then it quickly deteriorated. At 4.5 months we ended up bedsharing because she refused to sleep in her crib (and that lasted 6 months!) She also didn’t get into any sort of a nap routine until about 10 months. Happily she’s now naping 2 times a day for at least an hour at a time and sleeping from about 8:30pm to 7am with one brief wake up around 2am most nights. Which is good because I have to go back to work in 2 weeks. Ack!

The thing with babies is you can get into a great routine and then BAM, suddenly it all changes. Growth spurts, new developments like rolling over, teething…it all messes with sleep patterns.

Enjoy the sleep when you can and definitely get as much of it when you can 🙂

I don’t hate you one bit. Take the sleep while you can get it, and be thankful.

And I wouldn’t beat myself up about the waking and crying thing. Stuff like this happens. My first child screamed bloody murder non-stop in the car and she is a happy 4-year-old today. We’re all just doing the best we can. 🙂

Comments are closed.

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Categories

Places you should visit and things to click on

Tweet, Tweet:

