Resolving Timeline Issues

So I should update this, eh?

Posted on: July 24, 2009

And because its been so long since I updated, and I know you’re all dying to know the minutiae of my life, you get a numbered list!

 Questions I have been asked post-partum (note: the Poptart will be 10 weeks on Sunday):

1. So when are you going to have another one?

Dude, let me get this one figured out at least somewhat. Also, remember that we are both only children and have no idea of sibling dynamics. We would be lost. In fact, when Darren said we should have two (this is years back), the first words out of my mouth were, “Are you crazy?”

This has not stopped anyone from asking, mind you.

2. So are you getting any sleep?

And this why we have no friends. I know I said awhile back that I don’t sleep more than 2 hours in a row but that’s done. I sleep between 6-8 hours each night. The Poptart sleeps between 6-8 hours each night. Sometimes, we’ll take Darren to the train in the morning and she’ll go back to sleep when we get back and I get a couple more hours.

3a. So how do you get her to sleep?

We cheat. Breastmilk digests quite easily; formula lasts longer in babies’ stomachs. During the day, she gets breastmilk; in the evening, she gets breastmilk, plus formula (however much she’ll take). I nurse her to sleep. The breast is always offered first and she switches easily between bottle, breast and pacifier.

3b. You’re using formula?

Yes, we are. Because I have a bit of a low-grade anxiety thing that’s exacerbated by lack of sleep. I need sleep in order to be a good mother and not a weeping, panicky mess. If she can do the period between midnight and 4am, I can do the rest.

There is a reason sleep deprivation is used as a torture device.

Plus, if I ever have to go away from her for a couple of days (or god forbid something happens to me), she’ll need to take formula (I have a stash of frozen milk, but not that much). Her system needs to know how to handle it.

4. So why haven’t your parents come to meet her yet?

Don’t get me wrong, they want to and they’re coming down today to visit for a few days.

Back when I found out I was pregnant, my dad was diagnosed with prostate cancer. His 7 weeks of treatment ended last Friday.

So the Poptart is 9.5 weeks old; he had 7 weeks of treatment – you do the math and figure out the dates. Also, she was born on his birthday – so that’s a pretty good birthday present.

Other random stuff:

  • the Poptart weathered her 2 month vaccinations like a champ. Her photos at sears, not so much.
  • with respect to question 1, above, yes, we are preventing any ooopses from happening. Since I am breastfeeding, the only pill I can take is the minipill, whcih is REALLY, REALLY unforgiving. You have a 3 hour window each day where you can take it otherwise you might get pregnant. Forget that noise – I was bad about taking pills every day anyways. So I got the Mirena IUD. A bit of cramping when he put it in, some spotting and cramping for a day (nothing a couple of advil couldn’t take care of) and that’s it. Done. Don’t have to worry about it for 5 years. By then we should have made a decision on whether we want another one.
  • I got the IUD on the same day as she got her vaccinations. You can imagine how fun that evening was. She was clingy, I was crampy, etc.
  • I broke up with my diaper service. Its cheaper to order my own and just wash them. With one income cut in less than half* we just don’t need to spend the $66 every 2 weeks it was costing. And the diapers I ordered were on sale. They come from Victoria so they’re pretty local too.

And since the house is a mess, the baby is sleeping, and my parents are coming, I need to eat breakfast and clean.

*more on this later when I participate in Amber’s Carnival of Maternity Leave.

1 Response to "So I should update this, eh?"

I heart my IUD. Really.

And I broke up with my diaper service for the same reason. It’s lovely, but very spendy.

Comments are closed.

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Categories

Places you should visit and things to click on

Tweet, Tweet:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

