Resolving Timeline Issues

MTT: How I compute

Posted on: November 3, 2009

I was looking for a topic to write about today for NaBloPoMo and getting slightly panicky that I have nothing to write about when a topic fell through my reader into my lap(top). Its Mediocre Topic Tuesday and the topic is “How do you compute?”

We have a lot of computers. A LOT. Anyone who has been to my house and has seen “the office” knows that it is a scary, scary place. I have one little corner and the rest is Darren’s Stuff.

I have two computers. Three if you want to get technical. My desktop, which Darren built and works better than any desktop I’ve ever had. For real. It never crashes. It doesn’t like windows vista so much, but really, who does?

I have a laptop from which I do my surfing, writing, etc. etc. these days. It sits in the living room for now which is where the Poptart and I spend much of our days. Its actually a tablet: the screen rotates and folds down flat so I can write on the screen if necessary. Its lightweight (3 lbs) and I can easily haul it around if I need to. Its not super powerful and is a bit of a battery suck, but that’s typical for tablets. It also isn’t a big fan of Vista, but I hope to upgrade it to Windows 7 soon.

I have a second tablet that runs a bare-bones Windows 7 with Microsoft Office on it so that I can use my powerpoint presentations when I teach. Its the sicker of the two tablets.

I also have an iPod Touch which, with all the new apps? is da bomb. I pooh-poohed the iPhone when it came out, but I can see why people want them now.

(don’t be scared of the jargon up there. That’s the extent of what I know. I’m a computer tech’s wet dream or worst nightmare: I know just enough to cause extensive amounts of damage. This either keeps the techs in work or gets them too much work)

So, how do you compute?

1 Response to "MTT: How I compute"

I use our desktop, BUT I just ordered a pretty pretty pink laptop. It’s supposed to come in a few weeks. I cannot wait. I decided to go all-out and get the matching pink mouse and laptop bag.

My husband thinks it’s hilarious that I paid an extra $80 to get a pretty computer, but didn’t want to spring the $30 for additional hard drive space. I say, the prettiness makes more difference to me than the hardware.

Comments are closed.

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Categories

Places you should visit and things to click on

Tweet, Tweet:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

