Resolving Timeline Issues

I really need to take a course on writing titles

Posted on: November 11, 2009

When I was writing my thesis, I had an argument with my thesis supervisor the first day I went to see him because I didn’t have a title. A title, he opined, was the most Important thing to explain the theme of your masterpiece.

No, really that’s what he said. It’s probably a good thing he’s retired now.

I argued back that it was necessary to know what you were writing about before you came up with a title.

And while I’d spent the previous semester working with him on a proposal for it, I still didn’t have a title.

Anyways, my point is this: I have an idea for a book. Really. I just don’t have a title (or an idea of how it will begin or end, for that matter). But an idea. I had actually considered doing nanowrimo instead this year, but something was holding me back.

I brushed it off on having a baby with no real schedule.

I am a liar sometimes.

So instead of finding busywork or hanging online while the poptart sleeps, I’ll use this to get my creativity flowing again.

Starting Monday. Because I’ll use the weekend to come up with a title.

1 Response to "I really need to take a course on writing titles"

Hooray for book ideas! I’m so impressed. I think I am a good blogger because I’m good for like 800 words max, and then I lose interest. But I stand in awe of those with grander visions than I.

Comments are closed.

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Categories

Places you should visit and things to click on

Tweet, Tweet:

