Resolving Timeline Issues

In which I COMPLETELY jinx this mothering gig

Posted on: November 16, 2009

The Poptart is a good baby. Dare I say, an easy baby. She’s slept through the night – at least 6 hours – since about 8 weeks of age. Every once in awhile, of course, we have a “bad” night where she’s up every couple of hours.

The tradeoff on this was that she didn’t nap during the day. At least not more than 20 minutes. If I wanted her to sleep longer or if she needed to sleep longer, she had to sleep on me, but would move every time I took a breath. Which sort of defeated the purpose of taking a nap: so I could get stuff done around here so she could get some rest.

My mother said the no napping was payback: apparently I didn’t nap either. And yes, she laughed at me.

Anyways, I took the tradeoff: so long as she goes to bed between 8 and 9:30, she sleeps when we sleep. I will take that any day. It’s not like I could return or exchange her.

In the last month or so, she started taking a nap about 1.5 to 2 hours after getting up in the morning. This morning she napped from 6:30 to just after 10.  Then she went for another nap at about 1 until just about 2:30. Then another nap about 5pm for about 45 minutes.

And she’s been doing this more or less consistently for the last couple of weeks.

Of course, now that I’ve written this down, she’ll probably stop napping and wake up all night.

3 Responses to "In which I COMPLETELY jinx this mothering gig"

My fingers are crossed for you. Sadly, neither of my children have been nappers. But I like to think that there is such a thing out there somewhere. Why not the Poptart?

no nappers here..but yeah..I got her to nap by laying curled up in bed with her today and bribed the other kids to leave us alone…that sort of worked.

She doesn’t sleep at night either though…so what does that mean for tonight..who the hell knows.

I figure as long as they are happy..I can live without sleep. Would rather happy sleepless babies than crying one’s.

My son didn’t nap much for many months in the beginning and then he just started doing it. Who knows why – I doubt anything I did changed it. The good news is that he’s stayed that way ever since…and he’s three next week.

Comments are closed.

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Categories

Places you should visit and things to click on

Tweet, Tweet:

