Resolving Timeline Issues

Why are you afraid?

Posted on: December 3, 2009

First, if you haven’t read this post, you need to in order to understand where I’m coming from.

Done? Okay, so to recap: we (“the electorate”) regularly vote in and have the opportunity to vote out governments. In order to get our votes, politicians campaign and make promises and threats. More recently, there have been a lot of threats.

This, incidentally, is why President Obama was so successful – he told people what he was going to do and inspired hope rather than fear.

Also in the post linked above I asked you who should be afraid of whom.

What if I told you that it’s the politicians that should be afraid of us? After all, we have the power to vote them in and out.* But that would require voting. In the last election, somewhere around 50% voted. Maybe a little more, maybe a little less.

And by not voting, you are allowing fear to rule you – fear that you’re going to change the status quo.

So the next time there’s an opportunity to vote, think about why you’re not voting. Is it really apathy? Is it really a feeling that you can’t change anything?

Or has fear-mongering gotten the better of you and made you somewhat of a coward?

I’d encourage you to make your representatives accountable – demand service from there. Remember, they’re paid to serve you. Keep bugging them. Demand their help. Show them who’s in charge.

*Okay, so the system is a bit skewed in Canada due to the first past the post system, but the general principle applies.

3 Responses to "Why are you afraid?"

I always vote, even when I don’t particularly like any candidate just so I have the right to bitch.

Canadians have become apathetic towards politics lately, it’s disgusting how low the voter turnout is. We need an electric political personality to come out of the ether and inspire people a la Obama.

And the first big change should be the “first past the post” bulls*&#. So sick of the way our voting works

I am not at all offended. Which, you know, is vaguely disappointing. 😉

I agree with you completely, and I always vote in every election. Even the school trustee by-elections with like 0.7% turnout, I am there. Because it’s the best and most effective way to make my voice heard.

I really wish that politicians would give me a reason to vote FOR them, instead of telling me how bad the other guy is. I sometimes feel apathetic, although I don’t allow that to overcome me, and I think it’s because I really just don’t feel as if any of them stand for anything. It’s really quite disheartening. Take a stand, say something, and the people will follow.

I vote! It would sure be nice if I could have confidence in who I’ve voting for though. It would also be nice if there was a shot of my candidate actually getting in. For example my riding has been Conservative federally forever! (And I’m not a fan of the conservative party) But no matter I head down there and drop my ballot for each election.

Comments are closed.

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Places you should visit and things to click on

Tweet, Tweet:

