Resolving Timeline Issues

On the indoctrination of children

Posted on: December 10, 2009

While I normally eschew advice from other parents unless it is requested, because I am a big believer in Doing What Works for You and Your Family, I also like to think that there are certain things we need to indoctrinate them in early on.

I am not a follower of religion in any organized sense – you might call me a Deist, or an agnostic depending on the day of the week, the alignment of the stars and so on. I believe in letting people, and that includes children, getting to answers themselves. By and large, it is our job as adults to give them the tools to get to the answers themselves.

That said, studies show that if you start things early in life, people will continue it. Exercise for example: if you start kids early on regular physical activity (and make it fun), they’ll continue being active for most of their lives. By and large (don’t overdo it, or you end up with someone like me :))

Also, little girls should be indoctrinated to one of the pleasures of life early on:

New Shoes

At least one of them is a pair of runners.

2 Responses to "On the indoctrination of children"

Cute boots! I’m not a huge shopper but I will admit that my daughter is now sporting a cute pair of boots too.

They’re Dr. Scholls boots. Thanks to grandma 🙂

Comments are closed.

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Places you should visit and things to click on

Tweet, Tweet:

