Resolving Timeline Issues

(Annual) Open Letter to Vancouver Drivers during the Snow

Posted on: December 15, 2009

I wrote this yesterday when we were supposed to get 20 cm (8 inches) of snow. We didn’t and everything is all melty, but it still holds true. Suggest you take number 1 to heart since we have a bit of reprieve right now.

Dear Drivers,

It’s that most wonderful time of the year when Vancouver gets it’s annual snowfall. I expect this year won’t be as bad as last year, but the rules are the same:

1. Get some goddamn snow tires already

For real. Just because “Vancouver doesn’t get that much snow” if you’re going to insist on going out in your car, in the snow, GET SNOW TIRES. You’ve had a year to save up since LAST YEAR’S snowfall. Buy the damn tires and another set of rims, keep them mounted and have them switched out every Thanksgiving and Valentines Day (or Easter if you tend to go on long drives to the interior).

2. If you park your car outside clear ALL of the snow off the windows, headlights, turn signals and the taillights before you get going

The windows are there so you can see when you drive. If there’s snow covering the windows, you can’t see. Duh.

Also, once you start moving, the snow falls off onto the (hopefully) cleared roads and messes them up, and flies onto the windshield of the car behind you. Really, really annoying. This morning, I drove Darren to the train, and the minivan in front of me had only cleared the windshield. With the wipers. The headlights were on but the taillights weren’t cleared off. I couldn’t tell if the driver was using signals when he/she turned because those were also covered. If it hadn’t been for the streetlights, I wouldn’t have been able to see the back of the car. With that in mind…

3. If you need to clear the white stuff off your car, give yourself extra time.

Get up 15 minutes earlier, assess and get your car ready. Better yet…

4. Take public transit or walk. Or both

I’m not even going to bother elaborating on this.

5. Stay calm and take your time

Duh.

2 Responses to "(Annual) Open Letter to Vancouver Drivers during the Snow"

I don`t drive in the snow. Period. My husband grew up in Prince George and makes fun of me for being a terrible snow driver but I remind him that living down here I`ve only had to drive in the snow a few days each year. He probably drove in the snow more in his first year of driving than I have in my whole life. I figure if you don`t know how to drive in the snow. Don`t.

Can I just say how glad I am that the snow hasn’t amounted to anything so far? So, so glad. Uproariously, dancing in my living room glad. I’m sure you get the point.

Comments are closed.

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Places you should visit and things to click on

Tweet, Tweet:

